Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Want to understand the meaning of the following line Post 302118804 by blowtorch on Thursday 24th of May 2007 09:20:37 AM
Old 05-24-2007
Yes, I know, but I never have '.' in my path...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

what is the meaning here?

#!/bin/sh $ORACLE_HOME/bin/sqlplus -S $orauserid/$orapasswd@$oradb << _TMP alter session set nls_date_format = 'YYYYMMDD HH24:MI'; set linesize 100 set pagesize 400 ok the above is part of a script..i just wanna know what does sqlplus -S means?? as in why we need to insert the -S behind? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: forevercalz
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Meaning of this line in script

Can anyone explain me the meaning of line #2 in these lines of shell script: if ; then ${EXPR} " ${MACTIONS } " : ".* ${ACTION} " >/dev/null 2>&1 || die "$USAGE" else Sorry in case this is a trivial thing (I am not an expert in this). (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: radiatejava
3 Replies

3. What is on Your Mind?

Line 2238 Unix V6 Comment: You are not expected to understand this.

Here is the famous line 2238 of Unix V6 which is part of some of the most delicate parts of the kernel, context switching. This comment received huge publicity and just may be the the most famous source code comment in computing history. 2230 /* 2231 * If the new process paused because it... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Neo
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

meaning of !*

can someone please tell what !* means in shell syntax. Regards, (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: busyboy
3 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

meaning of <<!

Hi all, I wanna know the meaning of the last word "<<! " sudo su - user <<! please help on this !!!! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sudharson
1 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help to understand multi-line