Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: diff
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers diff Post 302115272 by DeepakS on Monday 23rd of April 2007 04:18:54 PM
Old 04-23-2007
Code:
/usr/bin/diff $F_PATH/$F_NAME1 $F_PATH/$F_NAME2 >> /dev/null 2>&1

if [ $? -eq 0 ] 
then    # NO CHANGE
	rm $F_PATH/$F_NAME1
else	# CHANGE
	rm $F_PATH/$F_NAME2
	uuencode $F_PATH/$F_NAME1 $F_NAME1| mailx -s "$F_NAME1 CHANGED" $NC_EMAIL
fi

That should do basically what you need it to, unless I misunderstood the requirements.

You'll need to add the file transfer bits above that block yourself.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

diff and ed?

I am trying to use the diff command to find the differences between two txt files. From here, I wish to use the ed command to create the first file from the second file. I am fairly new to unix, and I haven't got a clue how to do this. Can anyone help me please? Cheers (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Brototype
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

diff 2 files; output diff's to 3rd file

Hello, I want to compare two files. All records in file 2 that are not in file 1 should be output to file 3. For example: file 1 123 1234 123456 file 2 123 2345 23456 file 3 should have 2345 23456 I have looked at diff, bdiff, cmp, comm, diff3 without any luck! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: blt123
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Diff b/w $@ and $#

Hello, Pls explain the difference between $# and $@, and how its used in shell scripting . Thanks in advance (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: PradeepRed
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simulate SVN diff using plain diff

Hi, svn diff does not work very well with 2 local folders, so I am trying to do this diff using diff locally. since there's a bunch of meta files in an svn directory, I want to do a diff that excludes everything EXCEPT *.java files. there seems to be only an --exclude option, so I'm not sure... (3 Replies)