Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Comments unexpectedly print
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Comments unexpectedly print Post 302113978 by John H on Wednesday 11th of April 2007 07:56:44 PM
Old 04-11-2007
Thanks for thatSmilie - without the space it works perfectly.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Print comments in FTP

Dear Unix Gurus, Not sure if this is possible/workable but I'm trying add a comment line before each operation such as the following: ftp -n <mail server> ${log_dir}/test_put.log << END user <user_id> <password> verbose bin # List Files Before putting Data echo File Check Before FTP >>... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lweegp
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script unexpectedly terminating

I now that this isnt the greatest code around. Im a network guy by trade not a programer .. but needed something to compare config files ... Anyway ... intermittently, the program terminates. Ive been looking at the code for a week trying to figure it out and Im stumped. Can anyone provide... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: popeye
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Gawk combining lines unexpectedly

I am attempting to combine sections of log that should be one line but are spaced out over 10-30 lines due to how the software is outputting the info. (If I am making a newbie mistake I apologize) Example of log I am working with: 2009-04-14 14:51:22 access data here info. Info. Info. ……..... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: demanche
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

tr command behaving unexpectedly

Im trying to execute the below command on our server to list files and replace the newline in the file list with spaces, but the character 'n' is getting replaced with a space, is there any environment variable that needs to be set in UNIX? sh -c 'ls -trx... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rameshrr3
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting