Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Problem to add the string(without sed & awk) into the middle of file Post 302109298 by blowtorch on Monday 5th of March 2007 08:44:17 AM
Old 03-05-2007
Come on guys, we aren't supposed to be helping with homework. ali hussain, please stop posting homework questions.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed/awk String problem

I would appreciate it if any one can guide me in using awk perhaps sed in extracting some values from a long string. here is an example. .......some lines here........ ........ aaaa bbbb cccc ddddd eeeee fffff gggg (time:hhhh)........ ......some lines here also.......... How can I extract... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: odogbolu98
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help needed - Replacing all date & time occurrences in a file with a string using Sed

Hi, I am new to using Sed. I have a file containg lines like the following: INFORM----Test.pc:168:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. TRACE-----Test.pc:197:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. My requirement is to replace 10/11/05 12:34:26 with a string <RUNDATE> (including <... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hema_M
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

add a string in the middle of the file

i want to add a string in a very top of a file without using VI or SED or AWK this is what ive done: (echo '0a'; echo 'LINE OF TEXT'; echo '.'; echo 'wq') | ed -s myfile to add astrng right in the middle i could have count the lines of the file and just chenge the address. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ciroredz
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk & sed problem

Hello, I am new to shell scripting. I want to optimize my one of the script. I have one file and i want to remove selected zones for domains from that file.In this file i have almost 3500 zones for domains.Sample data for the file.... named.backup... (0 Replies)