Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: echo to a file
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers echo to a file Post 302100830 by _Spare_Ribs_ on Friday 22nd of December 2006 10:05:55 PM
Old 12-22-2006
Just to follow on from my last post. You can redirect the standard output to /dev/null if you don't want the output to be displayed on the screen like in your original example by using the following code:

Code:
echo $number | tee -a file.txt &>/dev/null

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

echo to both screen and a file

Please help me to simplify my below script. #!/bin/bash LOG_FILE=/tmp/log.txt echo "Hello" echo "Hello" >> /tmp/log.txt Is there anyway, that I can echo "Hello" to both screen and file with one single echo command ? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: phamp008
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to echo Brackets from a file

I'm a beginner of c shell scripting. How I can echo a whole line from a file with bracket in it? Ex. Inside the file.txt abcd efghi This is what inside the c shell set IN_FILE = file.txt set GREP_KEY = 'abcd' set IN_LINE = `grep ${GREP_KEY} ${IN_FILE}` echo $IN_LINE After... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: zeahr
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Echo own file name

Hi, I tried to google this but still unable to find the right reseverd word to echo my own file name. Example, I have a script called mytest.sh. Inside mytest.sh, how do I echo its own file name? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ngaisteve1
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Echo file name as header

I'm trying to create a header row that contains the filename of a file for all columns. e.g. file1.txt first middle last 1 2 3 4 5 6 desired output file should be: file1 file1 file1 first middle last 1 2 3 4 5 6 my code is: for file in *.txt; do echo... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: calitiggr
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting