Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Getting a script to find another script via lookup service Post 302100713 by zeppelin147 on Thursday 21st of December 2006 07:44:39 PM
Old 12-21-2006
Yeah, I could do it like that. My thinking was that it would be better style of design not to use hard-coded values, but I suppose that using a lookup service would introduce uneccessary network traffic, so I think I'll take your advice. Cheers

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

lookup script

hello I am a student taking an intro to UNIX class. I have an assignment I am having trouble completing. The assignment is as follows. i have a file called .addr_book that has various names and phone numbers in it. I need to write a script called lookup that will run like this I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tampaJim
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

whois lookup from script intermittently not working

Hello, I wrote a basic script to query a whois server using the whois system command to retrieve information about IP's. I have file containing the ip addresses which I feed to the whois command via a while loop. This seems to work sometimes. Most of the time, the whois command seems not to... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: aliberson
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

variable lookup problem in shell script

Hi I have one properties file containing as $INSTALL_BASEPATH/mssages/commonmessages_default.properties $INSTALL_BASEPATH/resource/configurationBundle.properties and $INSTALL_BASEPATH is set in .bash_profile but from shell script when I read this file and use in copy statement then it... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: mnmonu
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

lookup script