Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux tar usage and delete/create username Post 302099360 by DeepakS on Monday 11th of December 2006 04:18:43 PM
Old 12-11-2006
1a. tar cjf test_var.tar /var
1b. tar czf test_var.tar /var

For bzip2 or gzip compression respectively.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I Create a New Username

Hi I am new at Unix and need to setup a username and password, I currently login as root and use the password saturn. I wish to change this password and create more.....help (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kimjones142001
7 Replies

2. AIX

command usage on find with xargs and tar

my task : tar up large bunch of files(about 10,000 files) in the current directories that created more than 30 days ago but it come with following error find ./ -ctime +30 | xargs tar rvf test1.tar tar: test1.tar: A file or directory in the path name does not exist. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: darkrainbow
3 Replies

3. HP-UX

tar says: cannot create

Hello, I'm quite new to HP-UX and I stumbeled upon some strange behaviour from tar. I have a script like this: find -mtime $days -type f|xargs tar cvf tarfile.tar and it make me a tar file with files that has been changed in $days. When i run 'tar tf tarfile.tar' it give me output like... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: oey2000
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to create a Tar of multiple Files in Unix and FTP the tar to Windows.

Hi, On my Unix Server in my directory, I have 70 files distributed in the following directories (which have several other files too). These files include C Source Files, Shell Script Source Files, Binary Files, Object Files. a) /usr/users/oracle/bin b) /usr/users/oracle... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: marconi
1 Replies

5. HP-UX

how can I find cpu usage memory usage swap usage and logical volume usage