Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to Eliminate first line of multiple files Post 302098965 by Corona688 on Thursday 7th of December 2006 02:31:12 PM
Old 12-07-2006
Much easier with pipes than perl:
Code:
# Print a list of files with 'find', feed it into while loop.
# For each filename, open file, read and discard first line,
# print rest of file, while redirecting all output into 'output'
find ./ -iname 'file2006*' |
        while read FILE
        do
                ( read LINE ; cat ) < "${FILE}"
        done > output

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script help to eliminate files of todays date

Hi I am very new to shell scripting and have written a script (below). However the directory I am searching will contain a file with a .trn extension each day which I want to eliminate. Each day the file extension overnight will change to trx, if this fails I want to know. Basically what I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: richM
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to view last line of multiple files

Dear All, can anybody help me out in generating a command that can be used to view the last line of multiples files. e.g: file 1 contains 100 records file 2 contains 200 records file 3 contails 300 records now i need a command that can be used to display the last line of each... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jojo123
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

renaming multiple files with first line of content

Hi , I want to rename multiple files with their first line bar the first character + the extension .qual. For the example below the filename should read 7180000000987.qual. I have trawled through different threads for 2 days and I don't seem to find anything I can adopt for this task :confused: ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bruno
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk, extract last line of multiple files