Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Need Help Understanding a Unix Command Post 302092429 by chris86 on Monday 9th of October 2006 07:32:21 PM
Old 10-09-2006
Need Help Understanding a Unix Command

Trying to install something. Can someone explain what this means?

chmod -R a+r .
chmod -R a+w logo.gif tempdir/ templates_c/

I recognize that file permissions are being changed (chmod), but beyond that, it's Greek to me.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Understanding UNIX/Linux

Hello: I'm a totally newbie here. My company has UNIX. My development team would like me to learn UNIX and shell scripting. I've worked with Linux in the past, very briefly. I have Ubuntu installed on my laptop. I was wondering whether or not the shell scripting for Linux is the same... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: hbradshaw
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help Needed in understanding this command

Hi All, I search the forum for my query, Glad that got solution to it. But i really want to understand how does this command work. sed -e ':a' -e 's/\("*\),\(*"\)/\1~\2/;ta' Basically it is replacing all the comma(,) characters in between quotes with a tilde. Specially what does ':a' ,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DSDexter
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

understanding the kill command

Hi Guys, I like to know if i have a process which triggers 10 different child processes. How to identify out of the 11 processes running which is the parent process and what are the child process? And if i kill the parent process will the child process be killed.. if not is there a way to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mac4rfree
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

understanding mv command