Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Most common version of UNIX on production systems Post 302091887 by dutchman on Thursday 5th of October 2006 04:00:15 PM
Old 10-05-2006
Most common version of UNIX on production systems

I am new to UNIX (about a year) and learning as fast as I can. I am an instructor teaching UNIX and have two labs with Ultra 10 333 MHz, Sun Blade 1000 1 GHz, Blade 100, and Two Enterprise 250 Servers. We are currently teaching our classes using the Solaris 2.10 OS, downloaded in May 2006, I am not sure of the exact release. I have heard that version 10 is rarely used in production systems and that most businesses are using 2.8. If this is the case, should we be teaching students on the OS that they are most likely to be using when they are hired? I am familiar enough with Solaris 2.9 to see some of the differences between 2.9 and 2.10, but completely unfamiliar with Solaris 2.8.

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

music production, unix

okay, so i'm using windows right now because i produce electronic music and all my software is written for windows. i want to get rid of microsoft's os, so i'm wondering if there is an easy way to run these windows programs on a unix system. maybe a windows emulator for x-windows or something... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nydel
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Dominant Unix in production?

What's the dominant Unix in production environment? Solaris or Linux? HP-UX and AIX have never been "dominant", while HP-UX is widely used in financial circles... Is Linux reallly where it's all going for major production environments running Oracle/SAP/whatever or will Solaris remain... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: etc
1 Replies

3. BSD

Copying OpenBSD Kernel from a non production to production machine