Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Running SQL Scripts from Shell script - Need insight! Post 302078436 by tmarikle on Friday 30th of June 2006 11:50:38 AM
Old 06-30-2006
That is what you are doing with here document enclosed by <<EOF1 and EOF1. The back ticks return the output of the sqlplus command and then, in your case, attempts to execute it.

If you want to capture the output of sqlplus in a variable or an array, then use the back ticks.
Code:
set -A RESULTS_ARRAY `sqlplus -s "user/pwd@service_name" <<EOF1
@xyz.sql
@pqr.sql
@abc.sql
EOF1`

for i in ${RESULTS_ARRAY[@]}
do
    echo $i
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

SQL scripts not running, possible timeout issue?

I am a novice Unix scripter and need a little advice/help on a script I've written that's causing some problems. We are using Solaris 9 on a Sun box and the script is invoked with the korn shell. I have a two-part question: I wrote a shell script that calls and executes 3 separate sql scripts,... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: E2004
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running remote shell script containing sql statements

I have a shell script which resides on three SCO machines containing some simple sqlplus statments. I need to run these scripts remotely. Currently, I am trying to use rsh to do so: rsh hostname myscript args The problem is that the arguments to the sqlplus statements in the remote shell... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Madbreaks
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calling SQL scripts through Shell Script

Oracle and Scripting gurus, I need some help with this script... I am trying to add the query SELECT * FROM ALL_SYNONYMS WHERE SYNONYM_NAME = 'METADATA' in the current script.... Read the result set and look for the TABLE_NAME field. If the field is pointing to one table eg.... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhunk
18 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting