Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Capturing some data from a file into a variable Post 302076691 by shiroh_1982 on Thursday 15th of June 2006 07:43:20 AM
Old 06-15-2006
Capturing some data from a file into a variable

I have a file with some values in a tab delimted format

Eg:
'test' contains:

a<tab>b<tab>c<tab>Trk_12345678

now i need to capture this value 'Trk_12345678' into a variable say 'x' and append that value of 12345678 to 12345679 and store is back to a new 'test1' file as :

'test1' contains:

a<tab>b<tab>c<tab>Trk_12345679

Can someone kindly help me on this.I kinda know u have to use commands like sed,cut etc..i jst need some insight of the exact usage.

Thanks.
shiroh_1982

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing value into variable

Hi, I am new to shell scripting, I am trying to write a shell script, which will automate the process of mailing the invoices at the end of the day. For major part I am using Oracle database function. The problem is I want to capture the value returned by the Oracle function into the script... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: prasad01
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing Unix Traceroute data

Hi guys, I need a way to capture the host on the next-to-last hop in a traceroute output. The last output is the destination but I need to capture the router just before the last hop. I can do this in perl but I'm not so sure about Shell... I'm on AIX 5.3 using ksh any ideas? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: TivoliGUY
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

capturing the o/p to a variable

Hi, #Script mentioned below txt=($(echo `./demo1.sh`)) p=0 for p in "$txt" do col=($(./generateTable /import/data01/sri/Developer/SqlReport/Lab/23/${var} "$p")) . . . . done o/p displayed upon executing a script called "demo1.sh" is as below(two seperate lines):... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: villain41
2 Replies