Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting combining unix commands and awk program Post 302074114 by jim mcnamara on Friday 19th of May 2006 07:37:08 PM
Old 05-19-2006
See:
http://www.gnu.org/software/gawk/man...direction.html

This also applies to other awks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

combining sed commands

I would like to change the lines: originalline1 originalline2 to: originalline1new originalline1newline originalline2new originalline2newline To do this, id like to combine the commands: sed 's/^/&new/g' file > newfile1 and sed '/^/ a\\ newline\\ \\ (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dave724001
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to use UNIX commands in C program

Hai friend, I am new to linux..i had gone through most of the commands used in unix but i dont know how to use this commands in my C program..U know about this plz send the example program(C prog with unix command)... Thank... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sundar.lsr
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

combining commands

Hello all, I am trying to list and count all the files of a particular type in any given directory. I can use the commands separately but when I combine them they do not give an output. The command for counting the files is ls -1 | wc -l and for listing all the file of particular type say... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: BigTool4u2
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Combining two commands.

Is there anyway to achieve "find /home -name "*.bashrc" 2>/dev/null" and "PS1="\n>"" in the same command? I just wanna add a line to the previous command to change the PS1 variable to ">". (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: raidkridley
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combining many lines to one using awk or any unix cmd

Combining many lines to one using awk or any unix cmd Inputfile: Output : Appreciate help on this. (14 Replies)