Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting checking for permissions of a file Post 302072465 by sendhilmani123 on Wednesday 3rd of May 2006 08:24:06 AM
Old 05-03-2006
checking for permissions of a file

Hi,
I have a script called check.sh. I have to pass a file as input to this script. How can I validat whether the file has read permissions or not within the script.

Thanks in advance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

checking file's permissions and change them

Hi all, I am very new to UNIX and Shell scripting, I need to run a script to check for file's and directoires permissions and change the permissions if necessary. I appreciate your help.. Thanks (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: K-ONE
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Checking and chaning directory permissions automatically

Hi all, My first post here. I need a small script to check the directory permssions on my /home/uploads and if there are any newly created directory in uploads chmod them to 1777. The upload directory is for my users who upload their pictures and I by default their directories are given... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: apachi
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

checking permissions security

Can you help me to find a way to check that the level of the permissions givven to Others is not higher then the permission given to Group that is not higer from Owner permissions ? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ynixon
3 Replies

4. HP-UX

To give the "unzip" permissions & "create" file permissions

Hi, I am a Unix Admin. I have to give the permissions to a user for creating new file in a directory in HP-Ux 11.11 system since he cannot able to create a new file in the directory. Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike1234
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Retain file permissions when saving .sh file from internet [OS X]