Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Manipulating awk $variables using sed? Post 302070432 by r0sc0 on Tuesday 4th of April 2006 06:53:39 PM
Old 04-04-2006
Im impressed and thoroughly grateful. Thanks! Works perfect.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

using sed on bash variables (or maybe awk?)

Hi all- I've been fooling with this for a few days, but I'm rather new at this... I have a bash variable containing a long string of various characters, for instance: JUNK=this that the other xyz 1234 56 789 I don't know what "xyz" actually is, but I know that: START=he other and ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rev66
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using variables within awk/sed commands

Can I use my own variables within awk and sed for example: I've written a while loop with a counter $i and I want to use the value of $i within sed and awk to edit certain lines of text within a data file. I want to use : sed '1s/$/texthere/g' data.csv Like this: sed '$is/$/$age/g' data.csv... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mustaine85
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Manipulating a header file using awk or sed

Hi Guys, Is there a simple way of doing the below. Available<spaces>Assigned<spaces>Maximum<spaces>Maximum<spaces>Page<spaces>Total <spaces>Used<spaces>Pct<spaces>Max. Pct<CR> Space<spaces>Capacity<spaces>Extension<spaces>Reduction<spaces>Size<spaces>... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: eo29
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Manipulating env variables for user apache?

So that they can be used in a cgi script? How best to do this? Thanks ---------- Post updated at 06:24 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:38 AM ---------- Anyone that can help me with this? Basically I want to add an environment variable that will be visible to the cgi scripts when I... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: stevenswj
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting