Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: help combining lines in awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help combining lines in awk Post 302069264 by vgersh99 on Thursday 23rd of March 2006 05:26:33 PM
Old 03-23-2006
Code:
paste -d ' ' - - < myFile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combining multiple lines

I am fairly new to scripting. But I have been able to extract and format all of my information required into one file. My issue is that one character is on a separate line. I need to be able to add the character to the previous line. ex. abcdefghi 1 bcdefghij 3 cdefghijk 4 need to... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: DUST
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help appending lines/combining lines within a file...

Is there a way to combine two lines onto a single line...append the following line onto the previous line? I have the following file that contains some blank lines and some lines I would like to append to the previous line... current file: checking dsk c19t2d6 checking dsk c19t2d7 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mr_manny
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

combining lines between 2 pattern using awk

Hi I am fairly new to shell scripting i have some file with outout 1011 abc fyi 6.1.4.5 abr tio 70986 dfb hji 4.1.7 ....some text 111114 i have to format this text to 1011 abc fyi 6.1.4.5 abr tio 70986 dfb hji 4.1.7 ....some text 111114 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: shell.scriptor
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combining two text lines into one

Here is the sample file: 646 STARTED Tue Dec 30 06:38:53 2008 Job DdCustXAddr_brad has been reset. 647 STARTED Tue Dec 30 06:38:54 2008 Starting Job DdCustXAddr_brad. (...) 704 STARTED Tue Dec 30 06:49:02 2008 Job DdCustXAddr_brad aborted. I want to combine every non-numbered line... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mfavero
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting