Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Very simple question about changing PS1 variable at startup! Post 26896 by abidmalik on Sunday 25th of August 2002 11:36:18 PM
Old 08-26-2002
Question Very simple question about changing PS1 variable at startup!

Hello there !

I am new in this Unix world and just start learning Unix. I have very simple question about changing PS1 variable (Shell Prompt)
i have local.profile file in my working directory, i open in vi edit mode and add this line PS1="Hello:>" and i save that file.

I disconnected from system and connected back to see effect but failed. why ? i have C shell, Ksh and Sh , it should not show Hello:> at the system startup ?

Please help me what am i doing wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Abid Malik
NC

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

PS1 variable

I want to set my prompt to something more descriptive than a plain old $, so I set the PS1 variable as such: PS1="" Which changes the prompt correctly, but when I change directories, it does not update the prompt. So I tried this: PS1="`pwd`>" I get the same results when changing... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dangral
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setting PS1 variable

Hi, I am trying to set my current prompt with the current directory iam working on by $PS1=$PWD but it is blank. please help. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: papachi
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing a variable Question

I have a variable: $FILENAME = /XXXX/XXXX/XXXX/file.dat I want to set another variable that will give me this: $FILENAME2=filea.dat So basically i'm chopping up variable $FILENAME. Not sure cut will do this as i'm looking at different directories so the characther length may be... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pablo_beezo
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple assigning variable question