Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: complete newbie
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers complete newbie Post 24987 by davidjk on Tuesday 23rd of July 2002 08:12:43 AM
Old 07-23-2002
complete newbie

ok so i am trying redhat linux
and i create a partiton and install it no worries
then i start and i cant access any of my other drives
i can mount cd roms and floppies

so i am logged in as root

what i want to do is
mount the following drives
drive 1 ide partition 2

drive 2 to 5 seen as scsi drives

i want the drives to be mounted for everyone permanently
now i have had a look through the forums but i am a complete newbie at this and nothing seems to be exact

please help me understand what i need to do and how i do it
i dont care where the drives get mounted
and yes i know what the drives are called but they are at home and i cant see them

i mean

so far from what i have seen i like it better than windows

i have a nice looking os
and i cant access anything
so i cant get on the internet because all my drivers are on the other HD.

please help a complete newbie migrate from windows to linux

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Complete Newbie Question

I am in a test environment where i need to test several versions of UNIX, such as linux, solaris, SCO (ODT and Unixware). What i would like to know is there a universal way to work with the contents of a floppy diskette? I know some give you dos-like commands, but am looking for a way to access and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Dpinion
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

A complete Unix Newbie

I would like to know if I should install unix over a windows 98. I want to use a home computer to host websites right now, but I know how much Windows likes resources ;) So, my question is... Should I get a Unix OS? If no, then do not read more and just reply :) If yes, then, which one? How... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Afinita
2 Replies