Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Re-writing ls -F command
Top Forums Programming Re-writing ls -F command Post 17705 by Perderabo on Tuesday 19th of March 2002 02:38:43 PM
Old 03-19-2002
It looks like you are trying to append an asterisk if both S_IXUSR and S_IFLNK are set. But earlier in your massive "if" statement you have already tested for S_IFLNK being set all by itself. So no condition can allow to reach the point where you append an asterisk.

Even if you square this away, you have a couple of other problems. S_IFLNK is a symlink, so instead of appending a blank (and what would be the point of that anyway), you want to append an at-sign.

Also, I think that for executables, you want to ensure first that S_IFREG is set and second that one or more of S_IXUSR, S_IXGRP, or S_IXOTH is set.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

writing your own command in unix/linux

Hi I am very new to Linux programming,otherwise I have exposure to Linux. Was thinking about something like writing my own commands for Linux. Any ideas where to start, any useful links and what I need to know before I start with this. Thanks :) Sidhu (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Amardeep
3 Replies

2. Programming

Writing Makefile

Hello All; I am going to write an application in C/C++ which has so many source files and hence created many subdirectories. My area of concern is to write makefile. What i thought that each subdirectory would have own makefile and wanted to have one parent makefile which will call all ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nikhildot
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Accepting filename as command line param and writing to it

Hi, Is it possible to accept a filename as command line parameter and then write to that file using command redirection? i tried the below script. outputfile=`echo $1` echo "Writing to file" > 'echo $outputfile' exit $returncode but it isnt working. is there any other way to... (9 Replies)