Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: arithmetic problem
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers arithmetic problem Post 15747 by inquirer on Tuesday 19th of February 2002 05:10:17 AM
Old 02-19-2002
Question arithmetic problem

i am used to making scripts for hp-ux. but lately i tried to make some for solaris. the problem is that when i tried to execute it it gave me an error the "let: not found". why is that? how can i perform an arithmetic function in the solaris shell script?

thanks Smilie
inquirer

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

arithmetic syntax

okay, I'm a complete beginner, and I keep getting stuck on the syntax here. I want to write a script where I read the current time as minutes and seconds, convert the minutes to seconds, and add the two, then redirect the output to a file. the command takes two arguments, which will also be... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: paprbagprincess
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Arithmetic In UNIX

I am a beginner and I have been searching the web all morning for this answer but can't find it anywhere. I know that prtint 1*2 will return 1*2 what if i actually want the problem to be calculated so i want print 1*2 to return 2 How is this done? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tygun
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

problem in arithmetic operations

hello all, i am having a variable with a value of 0000010000 and if i add the variable with some no: suppose i=0000010000 n=`expr $i + 1` echo $n the output i am reciving is 10001 .it deletes all the zeros but i need result as 0000010001.. please help me... thanks in... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ithirak17
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can I use wc -l with arithmetic expression?