Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Serius ERROR on HPUX 1020
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Serius ERROR on HPUX 1020 Post 13651 by LivinFree on Tuesday 22nd of January 2002 03:07:31 AM
Old 01-22-2002
Have you checked the amount of free space on the / partition? The reason it might be working once you reboot it because on startup, many HP-UX systems will clean out tmp and other directories. I am very new to HP-UX administration, although I just got my hands on an old workstation running 10.20, and had a similar problem when I accidentally performed a runaway search that was dumping output to a file in /tmp... I filled up my root partition and bad things started to happen.

Also, did someone change permissions anywhere in the root directory? When I inherited this workstation, I pounded my head against the wall trying to figure out why non-root users couldn't log in... until I finally stopped looking at file permissions and checked the permissions of the / dir...

Also, I am not familiar with tombstones, but if you need them to, a HP CE/SE should be able to diagnose the problem... Also check syslog.log...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

import disk in HP-UX 1020

Hi, is it possible to import a disk into a system, and to mount it without overwriting all data on this disk? thanks (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Olivier
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

make is giving error while installing cups in hpux

m installing cups-1.2.12 in hp-ux ./configure didnt give any error. but make gives the following error making all in cups... Compiling adminutil.c... In file included from http-private.h:142, from globals.h:35, from adminutil.c:47: /usr/include/net/if.h:240: error: field 'iftp_local' has... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rosalina
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

.profile file error on HPUX 11.11