Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Suggestions on where to begin? Post 11732 by andrew25008 on Tuesday 11th of December 2001 02:24:18 PM
Old 12-11-2001
Question Suggestions on where to begin?

I have been a student at Hendrix Institute for about a year now. My term is comming to an end by the end of december. I have learned varios computer programs for web development that include Flash 5 and Dreamweaver. Actionscripting, Javascript and Database development with Access was all included in my studies.
It was all done on Mac platforms. I know both Mac and Pc which is a good thing I suppose. I am now looking into Unix Programming, which is a different direction from what I am used to. Where is the best place to begin my journey? Should I begin with learning C++, or do I just start with a beginner Unix book. I know what direction I want to follow, but I do not know where to begin?
Help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

BEGIN END questions

Why would you need to use this in a script? Why can't you just use print to print out what you want printed in the begining and print for what you want at the end. So this: nawk 'BEGIN {print "this is the first line"} {print $1 $2 $3} {print $5 $6} END {print "this is the last line"}' ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: llsmr777
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help begin with unix.

so im new :) i whant to use and learn UNIX, but i dont know annythign about the system. so i need some help getting started :) (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Morton
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

begin end detection

Hi all, i am new to scripting. i need to write a code to detect begin and end of word that either begins or ends with t,th,d,dh,s,sh i have a set of words in a file containg one word per line. let the filename be aaa.txt. i have an another file bbb.txt which has two lines, just specifying the... (7 Replies)