Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Script to remove log files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to remove log files Post 100760 by kiranherekar on Wednesday 1st of March 2006 10:28:53 PM
Old 03-01-2006
Script to remove log files

Can anyone help me with a shell script to remove all files (log files) created 7 days before current system date.

TIA,
Kiran.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Find 3 months old log files and remove

HI I HAVE LOG FILES IN THIS FORMAT XXX.log.20080509215745 XXX.log.20080209205745 XXX.log.20080301785745 XXX.log.20080109155745 XXX.log.20080409115745 XXX.log.20080309105745 I NEED TO FIND THE FILES FROM 3 MONTHS OLD AND REMOVE PLEASE HELP THANKS, (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: cvdev
13 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to remove old files and write to a log file

Hi, I have a script that works on a unix box but am trying to get it working on a linux box that uses shell. I am not a programmer so this is proving harder than I imagined. I made some changes and ended up with the script below but when I run it I get the following messages. Any help would be... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: yabai
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to remove files older than 60 days

Hi I need help in the script which looks at a contorl file which has a list of file names like xxxx.12345 and I want to take only xxxxx and search in a specific directory and remove the file if its older than 60 days I have written something like this.. but seems to be wrong... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: antointoronto
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to remove files

I am working in directory week5 and I want to delete the files in directory week1, without leaving directory week5. I understand that rm is used to delete a file, but how do you remove them while working in a different directory. I also only want to delete a certain set of files *. (1 Reply)