Script for grepping status

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script for grepping status
# 1  
Old 03-14-2010
Script for grepping status

I'm a newb so please be kind. I'm trying to write a script to check the status of a program running on a vncserver to know whether or not it has ended and if I need to restart the server. Here's what I've got and please I am a self taught scripter:

if [ ps ax | grep xterm | awk '{print $5}' = "xterm" ] then
serv-restart
fi

I've been searching and am not quite sure how to make work. Any hints or pointers is extremely appreciated.
# 2  
Old 03-14-2010
You can try :

Code:
if ps -ef | grep -q 'pattern_to_srch'
then
 echo "Available,";
else
 echo "Not available,  do retsart"
...restart logic...
fi

# 3  
Old 03-14-2010
pgrep can be your friend on Linux
# 4  
Old 03-14-2010
preliminary result are the pgrep will work perfectly. just have to do some testing. will let you know.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

How to track table status delete/update/insert status in DB2 V10 z/os?

Dear Team I am using DB2 v10 z/os database . Need expert guidance to figure out best way to track table activities ( Ex Delete, Insert,Update ) Scenario We have a table which is critical and many developer/testing team access on daily basis . We had instance where some deleted... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Perlbaby
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Execute a script based on status of embedded script

Hi, I have 2 scripts, first.ksh and second.ksh and would like first.ksh to run based on response of 'Y/y' received for second.ksh but in my case it continues to execute 'rm /tmp/list' irrespective of response received, below are my scripts with further info, Hope I'm making sense :) Thanks! ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mbak
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting