Opening a browser

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Opening a browser
# 1  
Old 05-27-2013
Opening a browser

Hi,

I want to open an browser from unix terminal.For example i want to go to google site from my unix cmd prompt what command should i use.I am using korn shell.

Thanks in advance.
# 2  
Old 05-27-2013
Would curl help achieve what you want?
# 3  
Old 05-27-2013
I am a rookie..can u specify it clearly the syntax...
# 4  
Old 05-27-2013
On your system, enter "man curl" and you should get full information about how to use the curl utility.
# 5  
Old 05-27-2013
what i understood from that is it trys to transfer the given data to speicified url.But all i want is to redirect from my unix terminal to a browser.
# 6  
Old 05-27-2013
There are lots of browsers out there for linux/unix. You'll have to find out what is installed on your system.
If your problem is that you do not have a gui on your system (which is needed for most browsers) lynx is a text based browser.
# 7  
Old 05-27-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakesh
what i understood from that is it trys to transfer the given data to speicified url.But all i want is to redirect from my unix terminal to a browser.
Terminals do not work that way.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Who are all opening my datasets,?

Hi, I need a command/script, who opened my dataset, consider a situation like, if a user has opened the dataset few days back then, that command/script should list his/her id. I don't want audit on my dataset, i need only list of users who are using my dataset. Thank you. (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: subbarao12
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with opening webpage with IP#