openssl installing certs

Operating Systems Solaris openssl installing certs
# 1  
Old 03-30-2011
openssl installing certs

First, let me openly admit that I am a dummy when it comes to openssl. I've never used it before.

I am running SunOS 5.10. I am trying to install the certs for openssl but have no idea how to do that.

What I have done so far:

1. Created a CSR using the following command:
openssl req -newkey rsa:2048 -nodes -out myserver.csr -keyout myserver.key

2. I then submitted myserver.csr to Cybertrust and received 2 files back: 12345_cert.pem and 12345_chainp7.pem

3. Copied both files to /etc/sfw/openssl/certs.

Now what do I do. I'm sorry if this is a ridiculous question, but I am completely lost. Does the cert need to be imported? And how do I test that the cert is properly installed, and that the cert itself is good?

Thanks everyone!!
# 2  
Old 03-30-2011
Reading man's openssl, ocsp, ca, crl, crl2pkcs7, etc. seems like a good starting point. This looks like a good start, too: Certificate Management with OpenSSL - General Stuff
# 3  
Old 03-31-2011
DG, believe me, I have read them all. And I have tried all the solutions. I can't seem to get the cert installed though. When I try to view the cert:

# openssl x509 -in cacert.pem -noout -text
Error opening Certificate cacert.pem
20180:error:02001002:system library:fopen:No such file or directory:/on10/build-nd/F10U8B8/usr/src/common/openssl/crypto/bio/bss_file.c:294:fopen('cacert.pem','r')
20180:error:20074002:BIO routines:FILE_CTRL:system lib:/on10/build-nd/F10U8B8/usr/src/common/openssl/crypto/bio/bss_file.c:296:
unable to load certificate

The cert clearly exists in the directory specified by the config file (/etc/sfw/openssl/certs).

---------- Post updated at 11:25 AM ---------- Previous update was at 06:09 AM ----------

Turns out the cert issued by Cybertrus was corrupted. I went ahead and created/signed my own cert and now everything works.
Login or Register to Ask a Question