Creating Matrix from file

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Creating Matrix from file
# 1  
Old 11-06-2011
Creating Matrix from file

Hi all, I'm a newbie in shell scripting and currently I'm trying to create a matrix using bash. The Output will look like this

Code:
               AB   CDE   FG

I'm stuck on the ABCDEFG display.

Code:
printFlightSeats()
{

rows=7
columns=7
for ((i=0;i<=$rows;i++))
do
    echo -n "$i" | tr "0" " "
    for ((j=0;j<$columns;j++))
    do  
    echo -n "$j" | tr "0" " " | tr "1234567" "ABCDEFG"

done
    printf $j
    printf "$i\n"
done

}

Can anyone advise me? Thanks in advance!Smilie

---------- Post updated at 05:48 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:44 PM ----------

Sorry guys the output should be

Code:
     AB CDE FG

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Video Tutorial on how to use Code Tags in the UNIX and Linux Forums

Last edited by pludi; 11-06-2011 at 06:32 AM.. Reason: Some mistakes in displaying
# 2  
Old 11-06-2011
I've never been a fan of echo | some-command when it's not needed as it is very inefficient. This is a simple, yet hard coded approach that generates output exactly as you indicated:

Code:
nrows=${1:-7}

for col in "  " A B "  " C D E "  " F G    # print header row
do
       printf "%s" "$col"
done
printf "\n"

for $(( row=1; row < $nrows; row++ ))    # print rows
do
    printf "%s\n" "$row"
 done

EDIT: The first loop could be omitted and a single printf used. Initially I embedded the loop inside of the row loop, but realised that the output you wanted didn't show the 'seats' on any row but the header, and I just moved the code up without thinking about the fact that the loop was then not needed.

The code below is a bit more complex, but much more flexible assuming that the different aircraft configurations might need to be supported. The looping is also different to illustrate how you might fill in any kind of status for each seat (assigned, open, frequent-flier only, ,etc):

Code: