can't find named.conf to configuration DNS

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers can't find named.conf to configuration DNS
# 1  
Old 04-04-2006
can't find named.conf to configuration DNS

Help me!
I have problem.
I can't find named.conf file in /etc (Solaris 5.6,SPRAC)
Please!
# 2  
Old 04-04-2006
It matters what named you are running - if it's version 4 , then look for /etc/named.boot. Or check your startup file which should give you a clue of where it's all at. That's if it is even running as a server - if it's only a client, the only file you should find is /etc/resolv.conf.

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl Compare zone files in directory with what is listed in named.conf

I would really appreciate any assistance that I can get here. I am fairly new to perl. I am trying to rewrite my shell scripts to perl. Currently I have a shell script (using sed, awk, grep, etc) that gets a list of all of the zone files in a directory and then looks in named.conf for what... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: brianjb
0 Replies

2. Solaris

best configuration for syslog.conf

I would like to configure the syslog.conf to have a good monitoring information about my system. do you have any idea about best configuration from your experience in your Data Centers BR, (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: maxim42
5 Replies

3. Red Hat

Named.conf file missing Centos 5.

hello everyone, I have install centos 5 recently.The file /etc/named.conf not found. I have installed BIND using yum. so now what to do ?? should i create named.conf file manually ??? please help me. thanks, sharlin. :) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sharlin
1 Replies

4. IP Networking

Named - DNS Server - within Firewall