exp command to extract particular rows

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers exp command to extract particular rows
# 1  
Old 06-18-2010
exp command to extract particular rows

Hi,

I'm new to unix so hopefully you can help!

I'm using the below command to extract a tables contents and store it in a dmp file:

exp OWNER/OWNER@LINK FILE=exp.dat TABLES=TABLE_TEST

This works fine and dumps the table into the exp.dat file.

What i can't figure out, is how to limit the data to only extract records for the last 5 days for example.

Supposing the table has a column called 'DATE' and the format of the timestamp is '01/JUNE/2010 00:00:00', what do i need to put so that i only extract data where the timestamp is greater than that date?

exp OWNER/OWNER@LINK FILE=exp.dat TABLES=TABLE_TEST WHERE DATE \> \'01\/JUNE\/2010 00\:00\:00\'

The above did not seem to work either.

Hope you can help!! Smilie

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Use code tags instead of colors please, ty.

Last edited by zaxxon; 06-18-2010 at 08:49 AM.. Reason: code tags
# 2  
Old 06-18-2010
Query =

Hey !!
Try using
Code:
exp username/password@SID
file=
log=
tables=
query=

for example
if u have a table testtable with column testcolumn and value=1

then

Code:
exp user/pass@SID file=   log=   tables=testtable query=\"where testcolumn=1\"

for string comparison you can use : ( testcolumn = Ashish )

Code:
exp user/pass@SID file=   log=   tables=testtable query=\"where testcolumn=\'Ashish\'\"

\ is acting as the escape character for " and '

Cheeers !!

Last edited by Scott; 06-18-2010 at 09:05 AM.. Reason: Code tags, please...
# 3  
Old 06-18-2010
Thanks, that looks good, I'll try it out and let you know.

---------- Post updated at 04:03 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:39 PM ----------

The code doesn't quite work. evrything is fine except this last bit:

Code:
QUERY=\"WHERE ADDED > '13/JUNE/2010 00:00:00'\"

do i need to escape all of the special charachters?