case statement based on file availability

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting case statement based on file availability
# 1  
Old 05-29-2004
case statement based on file availability

I need to make a select menu that gives options dynamically based on whether certain files are available. For instance:

PS3="Open which readme? "
select readme in This That
do
case "$readme" in
This) open -a /Applications/TextEdit.app This.txt;;
That) open -a /Applications/TextEdit.app That.txt;;
* ) echo "Invalid selection";;
esac
done
}

The catch is that if the file doesn't exist, it should not show in the menu, either. I'm fairly new to shell scripting, so any help would be appreciated.
# 2  
Old 05-29-2004
i=0
for item in This That
do
if [ -e $item ]
then
existing[i]=$item
let i++
fi
done

select readme in "${existing[@]}"
do
case "$readme" in

Last edited by anarchie; 05-29-2004 at 01:14 PM..
# 3  
Old 05-29-2004
Probably want to change the file test to -r which tests whether the file exists and is readable. My 2 cents anyway! Good Luck.
# 4  
Old 05-29-2004
Thanks for the example. I follow the logic for making a list of existing files, but it's the case statement that is confusing me. I'm not sure what to put in the 'options' section (talk about irony - that's where you stopped). This is the output (no options selectable):

1) This.txt
2) That.txt
#?

If I select either option, it returns Invalid Selection.

Here's the code I used:
Code:
i=0
for item in This.txt TheOther.txt That.txt
do
	if [ -r $item ]; then
		existing[i]=$item
		let i++
	fi
done

do
	case "$readme" in
		$existing[1])	echo "This.txt";;
		$existing[2])	echo "Red Herring";;
		$existing[3])	echo "That.txt";;
		*	)	echo "Invalid Selection";;
	esac
done

# 5  
Old 05-29-2004
Code:
do
	case "$readme" in
		$existing[1])	echo "This.txt";;
		$existing[2])	echo "Red Herring";;
		$existing[3])	echo "That.txt";;
	esac
done

try changing the options to this (i.e. - add braces)

${existing[1]})	echo "This.txt";;