SFU/NFS question

Operating Systems HP-UX SFU/NFS question
# 1  
Old 07-11-2007
SFU/NFS question

I am new in UNIX so pardon me if I am asking this question. We are using SFU in Windows to have a Windows folder mounted over UNIX. While we can see the mount, everytime i cd on the mounted folder (e.g. cd CONFIG) I always get Permission denies error. Does anyone know why I cannot go inside the mounted folder?
# 2  
Old 07-11-2007
At first guess, I would say the current user does not have the required permissions.

Can you clarify..

1. you have a directory on your windows system

2. you are sharing it with SFU NFS

3. you cannot 'cd' into it from a Windows command prompt?

4. did you set up SFU's group and user mappings?
# 3  
Old 07-11-2007
Thanks for the reply. Here are further details

1. We have Config folder in Windows Server. In this server, we have Services for Unix installed and have configured username mapping. In fact, everything was working before and not really sure what happened and why we have the "permission denied" issue now.

2. From a UNIX server, this Windows Config folder is mounted.

3. When log in to the UNIx server, I can see the Config folder. However, whenever i "cd" or go inside the Config folder, I am encountering "Permission Denied" error.

As an additional question, do i need to have the zzInterix service in Windows started in order for the SFU/NFS to work properly. Whenever I start this service, I get cannot connect to Interix Subsystem error.

I hope someone can help me because I've been working on this issue for some time now.
# 4  
Old 07-11-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jolas
When log in to the UNIx server, I can see the Config folder. However, whenever i "cd" or go inside the Config folder, I am encountering "Permission Denied" error.
From the UNIX server do the following...

show what your id and groups are...

$ id

show what the directories rights are...

$ ls -ld Config
# 5  
Old 07-11-2007
id:
uid=19541(ariba) gid=10077(ariba)