Man pages list, script or not?

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Man pages list, script or not?
# 1  
Old 03-14-2012
Man pages list, script or not?

I am a beginner in Unix/Linux and I am wondering how can I have all the "man pages" options listed with the possibility of selecting the desired man page number. Do I need to write a script for that?
e.g.
$ man cp
Man: find all matching manual pages
* cp (1)
cp (1p)
Man: What manual page do you want?
Man:

Also, I installed all the versions of man pages in my Fedora by running"yum install man-pages". Any suggestion would be appreciated.
# 2  
Old 03-14-2012
Code:
man man

Will tell you all...
# 3  
Old 03-14-2012
Before I post my question I read that and to be honest I am in a bit of rush. I skimmed through the manual page for man but couldn't find this answer! would you please give me more details or tell me what option to use?
I used " man -a <command>" and didn't like it. I want a list of different options.
Thanks Smilie
# 4  
Old 03-14-2012
all the man pages options:
Code:
man(1)                                                                  man(1)

NAME
       man - format and display the on-line manual pages

SYNOPSIS
       man  [-acdfFhkKtwW]  [--path]  [-m system] [-p string] [-C config_file]
       [-M pathlist] [-P pager] [-B browser] [-H htmlpager] [-S  section_list]
       [section] name ...

There is no *then can select the desired man page number", it is not like a book with an index... its a online documentation of a command therefore you type man <command> in ordinary usage, if you want a manual ( undestand book) then there are plenty on the market, look in the "dummies" FAQ...

You would usually find the man pages on a linux at /usr/share/man
If you go in /usr/share/man/man1 you will find here all the users unix/linux commands manuals...

Last edited by vbe; 03-14-2012 at 01:40 PM..
# 5  
Old 03-14-2012