Help needed to validate and merge Two files

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help needed to validate and merge Two files
# 1  
Old 06-02-2009
Java Help needed to validate and merge Two files

Hi.. I am new to unix !!!
Please help me in combining two files by validating the first column.
The files are tab limited !!!

I have a file which has the following contents...
DEPT1_BABYCARE 20 abce
DEPT2_PHARMACY 50 cdgde
DEPT3_WOMENS 75 jasjjas

I have another file which has the following contents
DEPT1_BABYCARE 30 50
DEPT2_PHARMACY 70 90
DEPT4_GROCERY 90 99 ( This line has to be removed as its not available in first file)

Now I have to combine both the files...
DEPT1_BABYCARE 20 abce 30 50
DEPT2_PHARMACY 50 cdgde 70 90
DEPT3_WOMENS 75 jasjjas NA NA

Please help ...
# 2  
Old 06-02-2009
Please search the forums first - there're numerous of similar threads.
# 3  
Old 06-02-2009
I am Unable to find a thread that suits my requirement... I want to validate a column and then merge... Please help...
# 4  
Old 06-02-2009
https://www.unix.com/shell-programmin...ing-files.html

Check this thread. It does what you want it to do
# 5  
Old 06-02-2009
Thanks Joe.... But this thread doesnt suit my requirement.. i tried it. Please help.....

-----Post Update-----

somebody
Please help...
# 6  
Old 06-02-2009
You could use the join command like this

Code:

join -a 1 -1 1 -2 1 -t" " -o 1.1 1.2 1.3 2.2 2.3 file1 file2

# 7  
Old 06-02-2009
If this is going to be routine, you are probably far better off using a database, also considering your data is tab delimited. Databases are more robust, especially when files get big. In such case, the problem boils down to reading in your data and getting the SQL for selection right.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Validate compressed files