Unix command to copy files selectively

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix command to copy files selectively
# 1  
Old 06-22-2009
Unix command to copy files selectively

Hi,

I'm new to Unix and am trying to write a copy command for the following scenario: Copy all .tif files from the src directory to dest directory but exclude the ones under archive directory.

In other words, I'm trying to write the unix cp equivalent of the following ant target:
Code:
<target name="copy_graphics">
  <copy overwrite="true" todir="${target.dir}">
    <fileset dir="${source.dir}" includes="**/*.tif" excludes="archive/**"/>
  </copy>
</target>

Appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Anand
# 2  
Old 06-22-2009
Should the dest directory have the same structure as the source?

ie.

source/dir1/file1
source/dir2/file2

becomes

dest/dir1/file1
dest/dir2/file2

(before scripting anything it's important to know exactly what the requirements are)
# 3  
Old 06-22-2009
Yes, they need to be the same.

Thanks!
# 4  
Old 06-22-2009
This looked to be quite easy with tar using the -X (--exclude-from) option until the filename (*.tif) came into it! GNU stuff does seem to print some odd messages!

If your source directory has only *.tif files, then I'd create a exclude.list that looks like this:
archive

And then:
Code:
tar cvf - --exclude-from exclude.list . | (cd /MY_NEW_LOCATION; tar xf -)

Otherwise, and I'm too tired to argue with wierd GNU messages...

Code:
NEW_DIR=/MY_NEW_LOCATION
find . -name *.tif -type f | grep -v '/archive/' | while read FILE; do
  mkdir -p $NEW_DIR/$(dirname $FILE)
  cp $FILE $NEW_DIR/$(dirname $FILE)
done

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX ksh Copy Files Script