New to servers

Operating Systems Solaris New to servers
# 1  
Old 01-03-2011
New to servers

Hey guys, I'm new to servers ( quite honestly, I'm not sure what i'm doing). Recently, I bought a Sunfire V100 to get me started. My goal is to learn how to set up a stable web hosting server where I can hold my clients' websites and also to learn a new field in Computer Science. I have a copy of Snow Leopard Server, which I think would be easiest to learn, but I'm not sure if my Sunfire supports it. I like SLS because I'm most familiar with Snow Leopard on Mac. So my main questions are, does the Sunfire V100 support SLS and what are the basics that I have to know before I continue this journey? Any help would be appreciated.
# 2  
Old 01-03-2011
The more important question is -- does SLS run on an UltraSPARC IIi based system.

Last edited by m.d.ludwig; 01-03-2011 at 10:11 PM.. Reason: (wrong chipset referenced)
# 3  
Old 01-03-2011
Thank you for the response.

In all honesty, I'm not sure. The requirements for SLS are: 2GB RAM (CHECK), Intel Processor (is UltraSPARC the processor?), and at least 10GB hard drive (CHECK).
# 4  
Old 01-03-2011
UltraSPARC is a type of processor, manufactured by Sun (now Oracle).
More can be found at UltraSPARC II - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

It is not an Intel clone.

Last edited by m.d.ludwig; 01-03-2011 at 10:12 PM.. Reason: more information from wikipedia
This User Gave Thanks to m.d.ludwig For This Post:
# 5  
Old 01-03-2011
Thank you for the information.

Next step I guess is to jump into research of Solaris. How hard would it be to set up web hosting with Solaris and at the same time monitor it remotely? I understand that the only way to do it direct is to plug it into one of the ethernet ports. Is there any other way or just direct?
# 6  
Old 01-03-2011