Problem with sort-of array in SH

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Problem with sort-of array in SH
# 1  
Old 04-19-2010
Problem with sort-of array in SH

Hello to everyone!

I'm really new in shell scripting and I'm experiencing a very odd problem. This is my first post in this forum, hope you can help!

I know that declaring arrays in Bourne Shell is impossible. But this is where I start having problems - system administrator did not install ksh. So after searching some in google, I found an alternative way to declare an array, however I do not know if this is gonna work.

Code:
for i in $*
do
for word in $i
do
echo "$word"
done
done

It reads values from command line and prints them out. I need characters entered in command line to be printed out in one line without spaces and I've done it by myself too:

Code:
echo "Formatted text:"
for var in $*
do
printf "%s$var"
done > "text"
cat text

But what about arrays? Would this work for me? (Found it by googling):

Code:
echo "Enter the line: \c"
read temp
n=0
for word in $temp
do
n=`expr $n + 1`
   eval part$n="$word"
done

All I could achieve was printing out the number of $n which was storing information. Creating another loop below this code trying to take values from part$n or $part$n did not give any results:

Code:
for var in $part$n
do
printf "%s$var"
done

Also, what exactly 'expr' and 'eval' stands for?

Any help would be appreciated,

onstock

Last edited by onstock; 04-19-2010 at 04:48 AM..
# 2  
Old 04-19-2010
On what platform are you running?
# 3  
Old 04-19-2010
Code:
echo $* | tr -d ' '

js.

---------- Post updated at 10:23 AM ---------- Previous update was at 10:20 AM ----------

Here's another in bash (not bourne):
Code:
var="$*"
echo ${var// /}

js.

Last edited by zaxxon; 04-19-2010 at 11:26 AM.. Reason: use code tags please, ty
# 4  
Old 04-19-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbe
On what platform are you running?
It's FreeBSD 6.2-RELEASE-p3 (GENERIC) #0

@jsmoriss