how can i conjunct two expression in one line in awk?

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how can i conjunct two expression in one line in awk?
# 1  
Old 11-25-2008
Bug how can i conjunct two expression in one line in awk?

hi im trying to conjuct two expresssion , but not getting the exact result i need..

i want to conjuct

1) awk < /etc/passwd 'NR >15' and
2)awk < /etc/passwd '!/8niaz/'

how will i execute , so it will start printing from the 16th line and will omit the lines which include '8niaz'.

Thanks in advance..
# 2  
Old 11-25-2008
MySQL got the sol

hi.. got the solution.. im a newbie on awk.. so just found out that "&&"works
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk - To retrieve an expression from the last line containing a pattern

Hi All, I'm new on this forum, and i'm trying since several days to find out a way to retrieve a expression from the last line containing a pattern. Could you please help me with this ? E.g. The file is containing the following lines 08/05 17:33:47 STAT1 Response(22) is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Antonio Fargas
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed , awk script for printing matched line before regular expression

hi All , I am having a large file with lots of modules as shown below ############################################### module KKK kksd kskks jsn;lsm jsnlsn; Ring jjsjsj kskmsm jjs endmodule module llll 1kksd11 k232skks j33sn;l55sm (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kshitij
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Add a line after last matched expression

I thought this would be easy to Google, but I am having trouble getting a clean result that I can understand. I simply want to insert the the line: My Network 192.168.1.1 After the last line that begins with ACL localnet (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: glev2005
15 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting