string into variables

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting string into variables
# 1  
Old 05-23-2011
Error string into variables

Hi,
i am new to Shell Scripting, i want to get some input from user which is string, and i want to store it into variables.

Eg:

str='hello how are you'

i want to store this string into 4variables
lyk s1=hello
s2=how
s3=are
s4=you

thanks,
lak
# 2  
Old 05-23-2011
One way would be
Code:
set $str
s1=$1
s2=$2
s3=$3
s4=$4

When the string comes from user input, you could also split the string into words during input, like
Code:
read s1 s2 s3 s4

When the user inputs "hello how are you", then s1 becomes "hello", s2 "how", and so on.
# 3  
Old 05-23-2011
if what is the case user gives three word sentence????

eg: how are you
# 4  
Old 05-23-2011
If the user inputs only three words, then they will be assigned to s1 through s3 and s4 will be empty.

And if the user inputs more than four words, then the first three words will be assigned to s1 through s3 and the rest of the line will be assigned to s4.
# 5  
Old 05-23-2011
no no.

my intention is to store string to variables. Is there any command in shell script that i can get only first word in string.

Thanks for reply
# 6  
Old 05-23-2011
With bash or ksh you can write
Code:
$ str='hello how are you'
$ echo ${str%% *}
hello

Is that what you need?
# 7  
Old 05-23-2011
Please post your requirement clearly including all possibilities.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Variables are not taken in a string

Here is what I'm trying to do. A query embedded with a unix variable is stored in the database table. When it is pulled out, it has a variable in it and it needs to be replaced by the variable passed to the script below. 1. select cast(cmd_string as varchar(1000)) from mytable where... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sheila_ga2013
1 Replies