Program to test SSD

Top Forums Programming Program to test SSD
# 1  
Old 01-06-2012
Question Program to test SSD

Hi,

I want to use SSD as storage to replace hard disk in server(Linux system). Need some help how to code the pgm(C or C ++)to test the SSD functionality (eg: Badblocks ). As im new to this line. i dont have much experience. Any input from experts/pro much appreciated. thanks a lot. Smilie
# 2  
Old 01-07-2012
dd
bonnie++
# 3  
Old 01-07-2012
This functionality is internal to the drive and opaque to the operating system. You might be able to get some information via SMART protocol or by using a utility from the manufacturer. Neither need you to write your own code to do it...

Last edited by Corona688; 01-07-2012 at 06:12 PM..
# 4  
Old 01-11-2012
sorry guys.. i know im dumb ...
im asking how to write test methodology or testcase to test the SSD ?
eg: erase --> write pattern --> read --> random read --> random write
( how do we code in linux ?? )
# 5  
Old 01-11-2012
Start off by adding and initializing the ssd in your linux system...create a filesystem on it...then mount it and use the C system calls to read write lseek to it...
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

RAID 0 for SSD

Nowadays the fastest SSDs achieve read-speeds of between 1500 MB/s to 1900 MB/s. Let's say that two such SSDs in RAID 0 achieve roughly double the throughput, ie 3000 MB/s. That is only half an order of magnitude removed from RAM ((10)^(1/2) * 3000 = 10.000), very broadly speaking. So for the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: figaro
6 Replies

2. AIX

SSD with GPFS ?