Problem/help with Sed

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Problem/help with Sed
# 1  
Old 07-20-2008
Problem/help with Sed

Hi,
I am new to scripting in unix..
Anyway i'll jump straight to the problem that i am facing..
I have a file that, i have to search in the file for some specific data and update it.
For ex..
(a data row in the file)
12345678|abc

what i do is sed 's/\(12345678\).*/\1|cd/' fileName.dat from the unix prompt so that i change this row in the file to:
12345678|cd
running this command from the prompt gives me an output on the console and the row is indeed changed, but if i open the file then the row is still the same as was before the change!!!!..
i tried sed 's/\(12345678\).*/\1|cd/g' fileName.dat as well but the same result. i tried to run chmod 777 filename.dat and chmod +rwx filename.dat, before i ran the command, but the same result, i also tried to pipe the command in the following way:
sed 's/\(12345678\).*/\1|cd/' fileName.dat | >[fileName.txt]|mv fileName.txt fileName.dat
but this results in an an empty fileName.dat file!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can someone help me on this please, i am not a unix programmer, i have scripted only as much to run a set of commands in one go (move to directory, find a file, run a shell script etc)..
i have not used ksh scripting to process data files before....

Please let me know, many thanks in advance....
Am
# 2  
Old 07-20-2008
It's not the default of sed to save the changes to the file, you can use the -i option if your sed version supports that:

Code:
sed -i 's/\(12345678\).*/\1|cd/' fileName.dat

Use a temporary file otherwise:

Code:
sed 's/\(12345678\).*/\1|cd/' fileName.dat > fileName.new
mv fileName.new fileName.dat

Regards
# 3  
Old 07-20-2008
Hi..thank you so much for your reply....

looks like the '-i' option is not supported the version we are using will use the temporary file option instead..