(OSX) Capitalization using tr

Operating Systems OS X (Apple) (OSX) Capitalization using tr
# 1  
Old 11-16-2005
(OSX) Capitalization using tr

Mac OSX Terminal/Unix question
I would like to capitalize the words at the beggining of sentences using the tr command, im not sure if this is possible, if not please tell me another way, I oly have TextEdit, no auto capitalization so just having a quick Unix way 'round it would be great.
# 2  
Old 11-21-2005
Use VI

Backup your file first. Then from terminal, vi the file

vi /users/yourid/novel.txt

Then type the following

:%s/[.!?]\_s\+\a/\U&\E/g
Hit enter

That should work for you. Then type :wq and press enter. Your file is edited and saved.
# 3  
Old 11-21-2005
YAY! thankies!
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. OS X (Apple)

Osx terminal

hi all, first off thesis my first post so if i am not in the right forum, i apologize. i'm an absolute newbie to unix. i've been reading my books and studying my crib sheets etc. but... :/ i want to accomplish two things. 1. search and remove duplicate files i.e.. audio, doc alias etc.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: monkeyhateclean
1 Replies

2. OS X (Apple)

OSX and Kerberos

Our Network Security folks have mandated that we "Kerberize" our systems to allow them to perform an authenticated scan. This consists of instructions to change /etc/pam.d/sshd from: # sshd: auth account password session auth optional pam_krb5.so use_kcminit auth optional ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jnojr
0 Replies

3. OS X (Apple)

OSX 10.7 and rsh

Hi Guys What do i need to change so that anyone can rsh into the machine, i am sure it is in the pam.d/rshd buti am hving and issue wiith it, at the moment only someone who has a pysical account on the machine can rsh in even with all the users in the passwd file it does not work ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ab52
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting