Booting Up help needed

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Booting Up help needed
# 1  
Old 10-10-2005
Booting Up help needed

Good day,

i'm an absolute newbie on SunOs. just finished reading a book about it and decided to have a go. However, things did not go as smooth as i had thought. The system doesn't respond to anything after booting up. I have no idea what is wrong.I've managed to jot down the screen. Any form of help or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Boot device : disk file and args:
SunOs Release 5.6 Ver Generic_105181-19 [UNIX(R) System V Release 4.0]
Copyright (c) 1983-1997, Sun Microsystems, Inc
Configurating network interfaces : hme0.
Hostname : t3st4
The system is coming up. Please wait.
Checking ufs filesystem
/dev/rdsk/c0t0d0s4 : is stable
/dev/rdsk/c0t0d0s7 : is stable
/dev/rdsk/c0t0d0s7 : is stable
add net defaut : gateway 172.30.42.256
NIS domain is s9k.png
starting rpc ser4vices : rpcbind keyserv ypbind done.

after the last line, the system doesn't respond to anything i entered.

p/s: my terminal is not connected to any network.

once again, any form of advice, explanation or help is greatly appreciated.
# 2  
Old 10-10-2005
hi,

did u try the command "boot"? or if u can try to boot up from the 5.6 cd.
# 3  
Old 10-10-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lweegp
hi,

did u try the command "boot"? or if u can try to boot up from the 5.6 cd.
hi there, thanks 4 yr advice. i'll try to locate the cd if there's any. at the meantime, i tried some things which i din know what the function was.

i tried "stop-a" after memory initialization and found out more abt my computer. 1st of all i know that there are 2 IBM SCSI hard drives. after that, i tried the command "boot disk1" then a slew of warnings came. when the warnings stopped, a message came out "' type go to resume"