How to connect UNIX to Telecom System

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to connect UNIX to Telecom System
# 1  
Old 07-29-2006
Question How to connect UNIX to Telecom System

Dear All,

I'm new in unix and I want to know how we connect unix to other system device (exp. Telecom device) and how to get data from that device (real time data), any script for that??
Maybe any one have knowladge about this ..
thank you

Best Regards,

Heru
# 2  
Old 07-29-2006
Depends on the telco device and how it is set up. Older telco equipment transmits data through serial ports, so you'd need a terminal server like a xyplex to send the data stream through the network (unless you physically attach a laptop/workstation to the telco device). Newer telco devices have TCP/IP data streams that can be used to collect data.

Once the data stream is up, you can use the tee command to grab whatever output the telco device is transmitting
# 3  
Old 07-29-2006
MySQL thank's

Thank you for your help,
maybe you know where I can search tutorial about that??
Smilie
# 4  
Old 07-30-2006
I don't know where there's a tutorial specifically for it, but it is basically like connecting a terminal to the serial console. You may want to look at a manual for any terminal server, which you will need if you want to make the data from the telco device. We use IR-8000's from MRV.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers

Migrating jobs from COBOL Mainframe system to UNIX system

In a nutshell requirement is to migrate the system from mainframe environment to UNIX environment (MF cobol would be used I guess). I have not much of idea in this field. I need to do some investigation on following points - - Ease of conversion - Known Data compatibility issue - Issue in... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tjsureboy4me
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers