Need a Script - Parse the log backup

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need a Script - Parse the log backup
# 1  
Old 01-12-2011
Need a Script - Parse the log backup

Hello all,

I need a script to parse the backup logs. I am newbie to scripting, please help.
# 2  
Old 01-12-2011
The log backup, or the backup log?

Hi.

Your question is far too vague to even think about beginning to think about answering.

What backup log (or log backup)? What does the log file look like? What do you want to extract from it?

Please show a part of the log file, and what output you hope to get.
# 3  
Old 01-12-2011
I am sorry. I am very new to this scripting and database too. So I don't know exactly how to ask a question.
Looking for backup logs to parse.
When I checked filename.arc I couldn't able to read anything. How can I check the log file?
# 4  
Old 01-12-2011
Many different applications can create .arc files.

Which application created yours?
# 5  
Old 01-12-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottn
Many different applications can create .arc files.

Which application created yours?
.arc files are created when we take archive log backup
# 6  
Old 01-12-2011
I should have been more specific myself.

What OS are you using, and what backup software?
# 7  
Old 01-12-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottn
I should have been more specific myself.

What OS are you using, and what backup software?
HP-UX and RMAN

---------- Post updated at 03:23 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:21 PM ----------

I'm looking for general script not specific. I try to edit or build myself by looking at that. If I couldn't able to succeed then I may need your help. Thank you very much for your quick replies and being patient. I really appreciate it.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script | Parse log file after a given date and time stamp