help with network drives and such

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers help with network drives and such
# 1  
Old 02-07-2007
Question help with network drives and such

I am in my second semester of my IT major and have recently set up a dual boot computer running XP pro and openSuSE 10.2. I am 100% New to unix/linux. Here is what I am looking to do:

1.) CompSci, and IT students are allowed to map to a network drive from their computers. I have done so on Windows. How can I map to that drive on linux as well? I see a lot about samba, but no specific directions anywhere on how to make it happen.

2.)Make my linux partition readable by my XP account (maybe samba, if so how exactly?).

Thanks in advance for your help!

Wes Neill
# 2  
Old 02-07-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cneill
I am in my second semester of my IT major and have recently set up a dual boot computer running XP pro and openSuSE 10.2. I am 100% New to unix/linux. Here is what I am looking to do:

1.) CompSci, and IT students are allowed to map to a network drive from their computers. I have done so on Windows. How can I map to that drive on linux as well? I see a lot about samba, but no specific directions anywhere on how to make it happen.

2.)Make my linux partition readable by my XP account (maybe samba, if so how exactly?).

Thanks in advance for your help!

Wes Neill

(1)Your system will have to be able to talk SMB "Server Message Block". For more information about how to map the network drive take a look at :http://www.stevens.edu/itwiki/cgi-bi...rk_Drive#Linux

(2) You will need samba for this for sure... Take a look at http://tldp.org/HOWTO/SMB-HOWTO-7.html

regards,
Johan Louwers.
# 3  
Old 02-07-2007
Thanks for the advice!

However, for some reason I cannot access the link, to the sevens.edu wiki.

Also I am 100% new to unix/linux and I need step by step (click here, type this, spin around 3 times) directions, and the howto page doesn't quite provide that.
# 4  
Old 02-07-2007