c++ using list class:: insert()

Top Forums Programming c++ using list class:: insert()
# 1  
Old 01-12-2008
c++ using list class:: insert()

hello,
I am new to STL in c++ and using list class.
I had a application in which I have to insert object of a class into a list at particular position......
So first of all I had to call function through which I will take a position where i had to insert in a list then increment iterator to that position and insert at that location ..
I had used it like this:::::::::
void Data::addPacketFromSerial(char *rawData)
{
int psn; //where to add in the list//
list <Packet>::iterator Iter;
Iter=packetArr.begin();
Packet objPacket(rawData); //creating object of class packet and passing rawData to it's constructor//
objPacket.parseRawData(); //calling parseRawData to parse the packet//
psn=objPacket.getPsn(); //get the psn from packet class
psn--;
while(psn--)
{
Iter++;
}
packetArr.insert(Iter,objPacket); //insert at particular position

}

but its not doing it correctly????????/
please guide me as soon as possible.....
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

C++ : Base class member function not accessible from derived class

Hello All, I am a learner in C++. I was testing my inheritance knowledge with following piece of code. #include <iostream> using namespace std; class base { public : void display() { cout << "In base display()" << endl; } void display(int k) {... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: anand.shah
2 Replies

2. Programming

Size of Derived class, upon virtual base class inheritance

I have the two class definition as follows. class A { public: int a; }; class B : virtual public A{ }; The size of class A is shown as 4, and size of class B is shown as 16. Why is this effect ?. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: techmonk
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users