Finding out if there is text in a file.

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding out if there is text in a file.
# 1  
Old 09-12-2004
Finding out if there is text in a file.

I have a script that when run creates 4 other text files. Sometimes a couple of these text files are empty. So what I am trying to do is find out if there is text in the file and if not delete the file.

What I have so far is the following script. I am just not sure how to return a true value in the grep. In Applescript it is easy but this shell scripting I am just starting out with.

#!/bin/sh

#testgrep-used to find a pattern in text file and if does not #exist then deletes file.

if grep "search_pattern" file_to_search
then rm file_to_search
exit 0
fi

Any help will be much appreciated and I am glad that I found these forums.

Thank You...
# 2  
Old 09-12-2004
What is moving you from the applescript world into shell programming?

A very simple way to accomplish what you are describing is:

find /path/to/files -empty -exec rm -f {}\;

Cheers,

Keith
# 3  
Old 09-12-2004
Quote:
I am just not sure how to return a true value in the grep.
With Just a little modification

grep "search_pattern" file_to_search
if [ $? -eq 0 ]
then rm file_to_search
exit 0
fi
Smilie
# 4  
Old 09-12-2004
Thanks for the repies so quickly, but a couple of things happen.

When I execute this

find /path/to/files -empty -exec rm -f {}\;

and I put in the /path/to/file I get an error of -exec: no terminating ";" although there is one there.

Also when I put this in a script all by itself and fill in the appropriate areas nothing happens, it just returns to the next line

if [ $? -eq 0 ]
then rm file_to_search
exit 0
fi

Could you please explain the second line.

Quote:
What is moving you from the applescript world into shell programming?