Search for network services

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Search for network services
# 1  
Old 01-08-2008
Search for network services

OK I am a complete newbie to Unix. We have a Sunfire V890 running SUNOS Release 5.9. The Operating Environment is Solaris 9. I have been tasked with determining whether or not specific network and solaris services are enabled or disabled. If the services are enabled I need to disable them. I'm trying to determine the best way to find out if these services are installed and if they are, are they enabled or disabled.

An sample list of the network services includes:

chargen
daytime
discard
echo
exec
finger
nfs
sendmail
talk

etc. etc.

I appreciate any help you guys can provide. Thank you.
# 2  
Old 01-08-2008
As it's solaris 9, these will all be started out of either /etc/rc2.d/ (and /etc/rc3.d/) or /etc/inet/inetd.conf. Most of the ones you've listed are in /etc/inet/inetd.conf.

It's highly likely all will be installed, but its the enabled/disabled state that's going to be most interesting to you I'd wager.

Inetd runs as a process (/usr/sbin/inet) and listens on all the ports it has in it's config file (inetd.conf). When it receives a connection it knows what to do with, it starts up a copy of the appropriate app (determined in the config file). If you comment out (with a '#' symbol) the entry in the config file, it will stop responding to those requests - disabling the service.

To add or remove something from inetd, find the relevant line (eg search the file for 'chargen'), and add a # symbol to the start of the line. The save the changes and send a SIGHUP to the inet process.

This SIGHUP is sent by first finding the process id (or PID) by running:
Code:
ps -ef | grep '/usr/sbin/inet'

Find the matching line, and remember the first number on the line eg:
Code:
root # ps -ef | grep '/usr/sbin/inetd'
    root   272     1  0   Aug 15 ?        0:03 /usr/sbin/inetd -s -t