Scripting array issue

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Scripting array issue
# 1  
Old 10-15-2010
Scripting array issue

Hi guys,

I'm a scripting noob in need of some help Smilie
I am creating a script that checks the filesystems and will alert based upon if the percent full is greater than the threshold set.

The problem that I am having is that when I set the 'filesystem' variable, all of the output is treated as 1 single variable instead of 4 variables that will run through.

so: /dev/sda2 /dev/sda1 /dev/sda3 /dev/sda4 will be set as 1 variable instead of being broken out and spilt into 4 different variables...
I think this needs to be done with an array, but i'm not sure how to accomplish this.

Any suggestions?

ThanksSmilie

Code:
#!/bin/bash
THRESHOLD="30%"
filesystems=$(df -H | grep -vE '^Filesystem|tmpfs|cdrom' | awk '{print $1}')
for i in $filesystems
do
UTILIZED=$(/bin/df -k $filesystems | /usr/bin/tail -1 | /bin/awk '{print $5}')
# Compare the utilized value against the threshold:
  if [[ "$UTILIZED" > "$THRESHOLD" || "$UTILIZED" = "100%" ]]; then
        echo -e "OS|Filesystem|PctUsed\t$filesystems\t2\t$filesystems is at $UTILIZED.  Please have a sysadmin check the environment for issues."
  else
        echo -e "OS|Filesytem|PctUsed\t$filesystems\t0"
  fi

done

exit 0

# 2  
Old 10-15-2010
Looks just like ksh - must tell shell it is an array:

Array variables
This User Gave Thanks to DGPickett For This Post:
# 3  
Old 10-15-2010
Code:
df | awk -v THRESHOLD=30 '/\/dev\/sd/{if(int($5)>THRESHOLD) print $1}'

# 4  
Old 10-15-2010
Please post a sample of:

Code:
df -H
df -k

And matching sample desired output.

# 5  
Old 10-15-2010
It is wise to keep an eye on inodes, too.
# 6  
Old 10-15-2010
Here are the outputs requested:
Code:
# df -H
Filesystem             Size   Used  Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2               11G   3.6G   6.1G  37% /
/dev/sda5               11G   6.4G   3.3G  67% /opt