Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris What to look for in my sun box if I'm new to this? Post 99946 by 98_1LE on Wednesday 22nd of February 2006 12:30:30 PM
Old 02-22-2006
I would suggest playing with the existing OS for a while, but at some point you will probably want to reinstall Solaris.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Booting off of a cd on a Sun Box

I have a Sun box that I am trying to get started up, but everytime it will crap out because it is bound to an NIS domain that no longer exists. The Master for that domain was put out of commission. It was suggested to me that I could boot off of the Installation cd for the OS (Solaris 8) and... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jody
4 Replies

2. UNIX Benchmarks

move from an HP box to Sun Box

I could write a long spec here, however.....we are looking at investing in one of thise shiny blue Sun V440's. Rediculousely expensive, however possibly more cost effective over time...too much time listening to salesmen. To the point has anyone actually performed a comparison for Oracle running on... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: luker
4 Replies

3. Solaris

Security vulnerability on my sun solaris 9 box

We are running security scans on our machines. I am concerned with my solaris 9 box running on a 280r. got the following message. The remote host accepts loose source routed IP packets. The feature was designed for testing purpose. An attacker may use it to circumvent poorly designed IP... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between AIX box and Sun Solaris box

Hi, I need a clarification. Is there any difference between AIX box and Sun Solaris box? The bzip command with -c option works in AIX box and the same does not work in Sun Solaris box. Can anyone please explain if there is an implementation difference in both these boxes for the shell... (1 Reply)